“What’s New in Video Game Studies,” Think.Play, 10/5, 7 PM, Straub 251, UO

2016whatsnewinvideogamestudies

I have been fortunate to be invited once again by the University of Oregon’s Think.Play group to talk with students about game studies.  Like last year’s talk, I wanted to have a conversation about game studies.  Given the start of the academic year, I decided that this talk would be about “What’s New in Video Game Studies?”  I wanted to present some current happenings, work, events, and resources — not in any exhaustive way, of course — but really to demonstrate that there is a lot of momentum growing in game studies, game scholarship, and game making from an academic or activist perspective.  Here is a gloss of what I am going to introduce, and then hopefully have a great Q&A to point to more specific projects, interventions, and texts.

I. Conferences & Conventions

A. GaymerX4:  http://www.gaymerx.com

          1. Schedule: https://gx4.sched.org/
               a. Queer Game Studies: http://www.edmondchang.com/2016/09/29/upcoming-presentation-at-gaymerx4/
     B. TwitchCon: http://www.twitchcon.com/
          1. Schedule: http://www.twitchcon.com/schedule/
C. Extending Play: http://extendingplay.rutgers.edu/
          1. Schedule: http://extendingplay.rutgers.edu/program/

II. New Scholarship

A. Books

          1. Game Histories series (MIT Press): https://mitpress.mit.edu/books/series/game-histories
          2. Influential Video Game Designers series (Bloomsbury): http://www.bloomsbury.com/us/series/influential-video-game-designers/
          3. Atari to Zelda: https://mitpress.mit.edu/books/atari-zelda
          4. How Games Move Us: Emotion by Design: https://mitpress.mit.edu/how-games
          6. How to Talk About Video Games: https://www.upress.umn.edu/book-division/books/how-to-talk-about-videogames
          7. Getting Gamers: The Psychology of Video Games and Their Impact on the People who Play Them: https://rowman.com/ISBN/9781442239999/Getting-Gamers-The-Psychology-of-Video-Games-and-Their-Impact-on-the-People-who-Play-Them

8. Gaming at the Edge: https://www.upress.umn.edu/book-division/books/gaming-at-the-edge

9. Queer Game Studies: http://www.edmondchang.com/2016/09/27/queer-game-studies-due-out-in-2017-university-of-minnesota-press/

10. Rated M for Mature: http://www.bloomsbury.com/us/rated-m-for-mature-9781628925760/

B. Journals

1. Game Studies: http://gamestudies.org/1502

2. Games and Culture: http://gac.sagepub.com/

3. Simulation and Gaming: http://sag.sagepub.com/

4. International Journal of Game-Based Learning: http://www.igi-global.com/journal/international-journal-game-based-learning/41019

5. Journal of Virtual Worlds Research: http://www.jvwresearch.org/

          6. Analog Game Studies: http://analoggamestudies.org/
7. First Person Scholar: http://www.firstpersonscholar.com/

8. Feminist Game Studies (Ada): http://adanewmedia.org/2013/06/issue2-huntemann/
          9. Queer Gaming (QED): https://muse.jhu.edu/issue/32156

III. Public Intellectuals & Activist Scholarship

     A. Blogs & Projects
          1. I Need Diverse Games: http://ineeddivgms.info/
          2. Auntie Pixelante (Anna Anthropy): http://auntiepixelante.com/
          3. Game Studies 101: http://gamestudies101.com/tag/blog-post/
          4. LGBT Video Game Archive: https://lgbtqgamearchive.com/
     B. Game Industry & Game Adjacent
IV. Video Game Studies Programs

     B. Interdisciplinary Degrees
     C. Graduate School

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *